Monday, March 19, 2007

Hartford Courant reporters win Guild's top award

Lisa Chedekel and Matthew Kauffman have been awarded the 2006 Heywood Broun Award for their series of stories investigating the U.S. government’s ongoing deployment to Iraq of soldiers who suffer pre-existing mental illness and other psychological conditions.

The Broun Award is named for the union’s founder and first president, and includes a plaque and $5,000 cash prize. It was first presented for work done in 1941 and is given annually in recognition of “individual journalistic achievement by members of the working media, particularly if it helps right a wrong or correct an injustice.”

Read more

No comments: